Why Worry?

We either make ourselves miserable or we make ourselves strong. The amount of work is the same.                                         – Carlos Casteneda

Hi! My name is Lisa & I am a worrier! For as long as I can remember, I have always been on worry overload. “What if” this and “what if” that? I have never been one to relax very easily. There is always something on my mind and it usually involves worrying of some kind. Letting things go is difficult for me. I wonder at times how my blood pressure can be normal! I wonder how I made it this far in life without having a nervous breakdown. Or wait…maybe I have had a nervous breakdown! Either way, I am still alive and kicking.

I came across this quote and it made me stop and think about why I stress out so much. The quote says…”The amount of work is the same.” If I am doing the same amount of work in my worrying, why not put that effort into something positive? Even though it is so difficult for me to think positively and lessen my worry, I think it is time for me to try. A friend told me today that life has a way of working itself out. Most of the stuff we worry about, never comes true. How much longer will it take for me to actually believe that? I think it is time for me to take deep breaths, not worry about what is going to happen next week, next month, or next year, and just live. I am going to take my energy that I put into worrying and transfer that to something positive. I won’t be able to do that over night or even 100% of the time, but I can start on a different path towards a better way of living.

Leave a Reply

