Insomnia Jeopardy

Insomnia Jeopardy

I am currently going through a period in my life where I have sleepless nights. For one reason or another, I am not sleeping well. I am tired at night, go to bed, and then I begin to toss and turn for hours. I either get up to write or stay in bed where I eventually fall asleep. I found this image online and had to laugh because the categories across the top are pretty much what is on my mind at night. I have gone through insomnia before and thought I had the issue dealt with, but now it seems to have found its way back to me.

There are so many people that deal with sleepless nights. For me it is because I have a wandering mind. I am not able to settle my mind down at night. So many thoughts and too many things I worry about. Not only have I started to take my own advice about what I write in my own blog posts, but I have also started a journal to record my thoughts. I was one of those girls who kept a journal when I was younger and even had a journal through high school, but eventually I stopped and got rid of them all so no one could ever read them. I figured if it is going to help me sleep at night, settle my mind down, and it might even inspire some story and blog ideas, starting a journal once again is worth a shot. Last night I even started to embrace my sleepless night. The house is quiet and lights are low. It is actually kind of peaceful. I was able to write for an hour and 45 minutes last night before my eyes started to tell me to go to bed.

Worries are not the only thing that is on my mind at night. Blog post ideas come to my mind at night. Story ideas come to my mind at night. My mind is most active at night. That is not always a bad thing as many idea’s seem to find me at night. If you are one that has never been bothered with sleepless nights on an ongoing basis, be thankful. Everyone has experienced a sleepless night or two here and there, but if you don’t have to deal with it a whole lot, you are one of the lucky ones. If you do, maybe start to embrace it like I have. Find something good about it. Something positive always comes out of every situation even if we personally do not know or find out about it. Once you start to embrace a situation and deal with it, you start to accept it and find ways to improve it and move on with your life. Find the good in all situations and your life will be better.

Leave a Reply

