Another Birthday, Another Year

Another Birthday, Another Year

As kids, birthday’s are a source of entertainment. There is fun, cake, and gifts. They can’t wait for their special day to come along so they can play games, eat birthday cake, and open up their gifts. The next best thing to them is going to another kid’s party for fun, games, and sweets. They can’t wait to grow up. Kids would age a lot faster if it meant receiving gifts & eating sweets all the time. Thankfully, birthday’s have a different meaning as we age. The older we get, sweets & gifts mean less to us, or they should, while being with family & friends mean more.

I tend to analyze my life every year at this time. Self improvement, accomplishments and goals tend to be on my mind more so on my birthday than on any other time of the year. With another year behind me, I have been analyzing how far I have come, thinking about how my goals have changed, how to accomplish those goals, & how to improve my life.

As I age, my birthday seems to be more of a “self reflection” than a celebration. How much can a person do with a birthday in February living in Michigan anyway? I see the wind blowing and snow on the ground and that right there makes my birthday no big deal. As my father in law used to say on his birthday’s, “it’s just another day.” I used to say, “Howard, it’s your birthday! Celebrate!” Now here I am saying, “it’s just another day.”

I hope as people age, their birthday’s are a big deal. Don’t follow my lead, or my father in law’s lead and think it’s just another day. Celebrate another year of your life. No matter how old you are, there are people who do not live to be the age you are. See your family and friends and do something fun. Don’t spend all of your birthday analyzing your life. You never know when it’s your last birthday or your loved one’s last birthday, so spend it doing something fun!

3 thoughts on “Another Birthday, Another Year

Leave a Reply

