How to Think More Positively

“Folks are usually about as happy as they make their minds up to be.” – Abraham Lincoln

How many people tell us to think positively? It’s good for you everyone says. Or are some of you the one’s telling others to think more positively or look on the bright side? We all go through tough times and times where we want to quit whatever is getting us down. it’s too much work, it’s too hard, it’s not worth it. It doesn’t matter what our excuse is, sometimes we just want to give up. There are a few circumstances where giving in may be worth it. However, most times we need to keep on going.

For me personally, I have always thought negativity rather than positively. Could be because of my personality, life circumstances, the way I grew up, or none of those things. Most people around me know I want to get into freelance writing. The more I look into it, study it, and read about it, the more I want to keep going. I find it fits my skills, my personality, and my wants and needs in a job. It is also easy to get stressed out over. It is hard work and won’t come easy. Yesterday was one of those days where I thought for a second to give in and do something else. Only for a second though! I asked myself, what else would I do? What else interests me? After coming up with a few things, this interests me the most. I am at the point where I am doing a lot of reading concerning freelance writing. Not only is it interesting to me, but stressful as well.

I came across the quote I used at the start of this blog this morning. It started me on a path of positive thinking. I have always enjoyed learning about Abraham Lincoln. I enjoy watching movies & TV shows concerning him. I enjoy reading about him. I have read many interesting and positive quotes said by him. It made me think of how many people tell others to look on the bright side of things, but do not follow it themselves. I don’t think Abraham Lincoln was one of those people. I have been trying to learn from that and increase my positive thinking. It increases one’s mood, decreases stress and has health benefits. Positive thinking doesn’t always come easy, but it’s worth a try!

I thought of a list of things to help myself think more positively. I hope they help others needing it, not just myself.

1. Just do it! Don’t think anything differently. Just think positively.

2. Ignore what others think of you.

3. Use positive words & thoughts such as, “I can” and “I am able.”

4. Smile and laugh more.

5. Get rid of negative thoughts.

6. Think about a successful outcome.

7. Read positive books and affirmations.

8. Exercise.

9. Sit up straight. It will improve self confidence.

10. Don’t watch the news too much.

I hope that these few tips draw out the negative talk and draw in the positive talk for my readers. It is difficult at times to always look on the bright side of things. We are not always able to do that. When we find ourselves feeling negative energy around us, look at these few tips I listed and think positively!

Leave a Reply

