Be Thankful For Your Health

Be Thankful For Your Health

Everyone knows the saying, “be thankful for your health.” I have always been a healthy person with nothing more than a minor cold here and there. I rarely get a flu shot and I rarely come down with the flu. I have not had any major health setbacks. I believe because of this, I have never fully had the chance to comprehend the saying, “be thankful for your health.” I never took it to heart. I never fully grasped the meaning. Then the month of March occurred. Even though what I am about to say is minor, it is still enough to truly understand the meaning behind “be thankful for your health.”

At the start of the month, Michigan had it’s last major/minor snow storm. I was outside shoveling the driveway and sliding the whole time on my driveway on the black ice. I ended up falling on the driveway with the shovel handle going right into my eye. Right way, it could have been something very bad. My eye swelled up and it turned black and blue. My eye even closed half way. With that, came the most painful body aches I have ever experienced in my life. I hurt constantly from head to toe for a week when it finally began to taper off. Given the fact it could have been much worse has opened my eyes to my health. Currently waiting on blood tests to make sure my aches and pains are not related to anything else, I am trying to be positive. Just when this is episode is almost put past me, I come down with the worst cold I have had a long time. My body aches flared back up again and I have been down for the count once again. This too shall pass.

Don’t get me wrong, I am not complaining or whining. I don’t need anyone to hold my hand. I understand my health woes are minor. So please refrain from the comments that I am trying to get people to feel sorry for me. This is not what this is about. What this is about is, being thankful for your health. Even minor injuries should give us all a wake up call as to what we need to be thankful for.

Leave a Reply

